The Post War Pubs of Greater Manchester

Prompted by the recent Historic England call for the listing of Britain’s post war pubs I have begun cycling, exploring and recording those examples within Greater Manchester.

I have used my own local knowledge and the invaluable prompt of this existing site:

http://manchester-estate-pubs.blogspot.co.uk

I hope to build a resource that celebrates this often neglected and indeed threatened typology.

Many of the buildings I have visited have already been subject to a change of use, yet nevertheless retain some or all of their architectural integrity.

I am also interested in the changing identity of the surviving pubs as an important part of our urban communities.

You can add your local local too:

http://historicengland.org.uk/news-and-features/news/help-needed-post-war-pubs

One thought on “The Post War Pubs of Greater Manchester

  1. Fantastic post. Wonderful photo’s and great commentary. I know/knew a couple of these pubs and am saddened by their passing but pleased they’re being remembered and celebrated by yourself in this top notch post. More of the same please. Keep up the good work (and cycling) 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment